Skip to Content

Daylight Saving Time bill passes Illinois Senate, heads to House

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WGEM) — Illinois residents are one step closer to ending the practice of changing their clocks twice a year.

The Illinois Senate passed Senate Bill 533 on Tuesday, 44-2.

State Sen. Andy Manar (D-Bunker Hill) introduced the bill back in May.

The bill would make Daylight Saving Time the year-round standard time of the entire state starting on the second Sunday of March 2020.

If the bill receives full approval, Illinois could be the third US state to make Daylight Saving Time permanent.

Arizona and Hawaii are currently the only states who don’t observe the time change.

State bill would make daylight saving time permanent in Illinois

Jim Roberts

Social Media & Digital Content Manager

Skip to content