Skip to Content

Local fire departments to receive COVID-19 relief grant


SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WGEM) -- Six fire departments in Adams, McDonough, and Pike counties will receive a one-time Illinois Fire Department COVID-19 Relief Grant, according to the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal (OSFM).

OSFM announced a total of 36 Illinois fire departments will receive over $316,000 in funding on Wednesday.

Officials said under this one-time grant opportunity, eligible Illinois fire departments could receive up to $15,000 in order to make up for lost donation revenues stemming from their inability to host local fundraising events during the periods of quarantines in 2020. These fundraising events include pancake breakfasts and spaghetti dinners, and pay for necessities like fuel for fire trucks, utilities, and insurance.

“Firefighters bravely put their lives on the line to protect their neighbors and broader community. Throughout COVID-19, fire departments across the state continued to answer calls for assistance and provide critical frontline support in the fight against the virus,” said Gov. JB Pritzker. “I’m pleased to announce $316,000 in funding has been allocated to fire departments across the state whose fiscal operations were hindered by COVID-19. With these grants, our brave firefighters will once again have access to the critical tools they need.”

“The COVID-19 pandemic has hit fire department budgets hard, especially rural volunteer departments who depend mainly on fundraising activities to pay for essential operational needs,” said Illinois State Fire Marshal Matt Perez. “The funds provided to departments will help to keep the lights on and fuel in the trucks so they can respond safely and effectively to help their community members during an emergency.”

The OSFM said it collaborated with the Illinois Fire Chiefs Association (IFCA) who helped assemble a special committee to review the grant applications utilizing a blind review needs-based analysis.  The grant is financed through the Illinois Fire Prevention Fund, a non-general revenue fund that is supported primarily by a 1% assessment of the gross fire risk premium receipts of all insurance companies operating in the state.

A full list of grant recipients and awards can be found below:

Clayton Fire Protection District: $7,952
Ursa Fire Protection District: $1,939
Loraine Fire Protection District: $8,300

Cherry Fire Protection District: $6,392

Wheatfield Fire Protection District: $8,760
Beckemeyer-Wade Fire Protection District: $15,000
Hoffman Fire Protection District: $2,904
Germantown Rural Fire Protection District: $15,000

Wabash Fire Protection District: $13,936

Brownstown Fire Protection District: $9,655

Coello Volunteer Fire Department: $10,651
Ziegler Fire Department: $9,028

Smithfield Fire Protection District: $13,150

Shawneetown Fire Department: $11,030

Dowell Fire Department: $10,586
Vergennes Fire Department: $910

Jo Daviess:
Apple River Fire Protection District: $12,686

Worden Fire Protection District: $11,164

Odin Fire Protection District: $10,049

Havana Rural Fire Protection District: $4,476

New Salem Fire Protection District: $2,421
Emmet-Chalmers Fire Protection District: $11,355

Witt Volunteer Fire Department: $15,000

Pickneyville Fire Department: $4,388

Hull-Kinderhook Fire Department: $7,600

Olmstead Fire Department: $6,451

Prairie du Rocher Community Fire Department: $15,000
Tilden Fire Department: $7,160

St. Clair:
St. Libory Volunteer Fire Company: $15,000
Camp Jackson Fire Department: $1,586
Fairmont City Fire Department: $8,540
Lebanon-Emerald Mound Fire Department: $15,000

Marquette Heights Fire Department: $10,773
Ware/Wolf Lake Fire Protection District: $1,976

Little Wabash Fire Protection District: $3,986

Hurst Fire Department: $6,260

Author Profile Photo

Jim Roberts

Social Media & Digital Content Manager

Skip to content